WNBA Finals: Who has won the most Finals MVPs in WNBA history?

In the 25 years of the WNBA, only five players have won multiple Finals MVP awards.

Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Famer Cynthia Cooper has the most to her name with four, all earned as a member of the Houston Comets' championship squad that won four-consecutive WNBA titles from 1997 to 2000.

MORE: Which WNBA franchise has won the most titles?

Los Angeles Sparks' Lisa Leslie won back-to-back Finals MVP awards in 2001 and 2002. Leslie and Cooper remain as the only players in WNBA history to have been named Finals MVP in consecutive seasons.

WNBA Finals MVP award leaders
Player Team No. of Finals MVPs Year
Cynthia Cooper Houston Comets 4 1997, 1998, 1999, 2000
Lisa Leslie Los Angeles Sparks 2 2001, 2002
Diana Taurasi Phoenix Mercury 2 2009, 2014
Sylvia Fowles Minnesota Lynx 2 2015, 2017
Breanna Stewart Seattle Storm 2 2018, 2020

Of the 17 different players to win the Finals MVP award, Lauren Jackson and Emma Meesseman are the only international players to receive the honour.

Jackson, a two-time NBA Champion from Australia, won the award in 2010, while Belgium national Meesseman received the honour in 2019 as a member of the Washington Mystics.

The views on this page do not necessarily reflect the views of the NBA or its clubs.

More from NBA.com

Powell says Lillard recruited him to re-sign with Portland
Kyle Irving
Kyle Lowry, Jimmy Butler and Bam Adebayo at Miami Heat Media Day 2021.
Running Diary: Updates from Media Day
NBA.com Staff
Report: MPJ agrees to max extension with Nuggets
Kyle Irving
Kawhi makes his intentions clear with Clippers
Kyle Irving
Brooklyn Nets star Kyrie Irving
Kyrie remotely joins media day, asks for privacy
Brian Mahoney — AP
Miami Heat star Kyle Lowry
First look at Lowry in Heat uniform
Scott Rafferty
More News