WNBA Finals: Which WNBA franchise has won the most championships?

Entering the WNBA's 25th season, nine different franchises have clinched at least one league title.

Which WNBA franchise has won most championships?

Three teams in the Minnesota Lynx, Houston Comets and Seattle Storm have won the most titles, combining for half of the 24 WNBA championships with four apiece.

The Comets (1997, 1998, 1999, 2000) and Los Angeles Sparks (2001, 2002) are the only two franchises to have won back-to-back.

WNBA franchises with multiple championships
Teams Finals appearances Championships Years won
Minnesota Lynx 6 4 2011, 2013, 2015, 2017
Houston Comets 4 4 1997, 1998, 1999, 2000
Seattle Storm 4 4 2004, 2010, 2018, 2020
Los Angeles Sparks 5 3 2001, 2002, 2016
Detroit Shock 4 3 2003, 2006, 2008
Phoenix Mercury 4 3 2007, 2009, 2014

Three WNBA franchises have one championship to their name: Indiana Fever (2012), Washington Mystics (2019) and Sacramento Monarchs (2005).

Of the nine, two have since folded in the Comets (2008) and Monarchs (2009) while the Shock relocated twice, first to Tulsa (2010-15) and then to Dallas (2016-present).

Ahead of the 2021 season, the WNBA announced season-long 25th anniversary celebrations and unveiled a new official game ball.

The views on this page do not necessarily reflect the views of the NBA or its clubs.

More from NBA.com

Raptors' star power shines through in win over Nets
Kyle Irving
Nuggets edge Blazers in thriller
Kane Pitman
Randle and the Knicks stay hot
Kane Pitman
Suns escape with thrilling win over 76ers
Benyam Kidane
Boucher to receive MRI on knee injury
Kyle Irving
Running diary: Raptors stars show out to defeat Nets
Kyle Irving
More News