Olympics

When does Team USA play? USA Basketball Olympics schedule, group pairings and roster

The United States Men's National Basketball team is set to begin its pursuit of a fourth consecutive gold medal at the Tokyo Olympic Games, which began with Opening Ceremonies on Friday, July 23 (ET).

Ahead of the Olympic Games, Team USA held its training camp in Las Vegas, NV, where it took part in four exhibition games over eight days in preparation for the Olympics, opening with a friendly match against the Nigerian National Team.

Below, find all you need to know about Team USA's Olympic schedule and opponents, as well as a look back at its exhibition schedule and results.

2021 USA Basketball Men's National Team schedule

USA Basketball Olympics schedule
Date Matchup Location Time (ET/PT)
July 24-Aug. 7 Tokyo Olympics - -
Sunday, July 25 USA vs. France Saitama, Japan 8:00 a.m. ET/5:00 a.m. PT
Wednesday, July 28 USA vs. Iran Saitama, Japan 12:40 a.m. ET/9:40 p.m. PT
Saturday, July 31 USA vs. Czech Republic Saitama, Japan 8:00 a.m. ET/5:00 a.m. PT
Tuesday, Aug. 3 Men's Quarterfinals Saitama, Japan -
Thursday, Aug. 5 Men's Semifinals Saitama, Japan -
Friday, Aug. 6 Men's Gold Medal Game Saitama, Japan -
Saturday, Aug. 7 Men's Bronze Medal Game Saitama, Japan -
USA Basketball Exhibition Results
Date Matchup Location Time (ET/PT)
July 6-18 USA Men's National Team Training Camp Mendenhall Center, UNLV -
Saturday, July 10 Nigeria 90, USA 87 Michelob ULTRA Arena, Las Vegas, NV 8:00 p.m. ET/5:00 p.m. PT
Monday, July 12 Australia 91, USA 83 Michelob ULTRA Arena, Las Vegas, NV 8:00 p.m. ET/5:00 p.m. PT
Tuesday, July 13 USA 108, Argentina 80 Michelob ULTRA Arena, Las Vegas, NV 6:00 p.m. ET/3:00 p.m. PT
Friday, July 16 USA vs. Australia (Exhibition) - Cancelled Michelob ULTRA Arena, Las Vegas, NV 6:00 p.m. ET/3:00 p.m. PT
Sunday, July 18 USA 83, Spain 76 Michelob ULTRA Arena, Las Vegas, NV 9:00 p.m. ET/6:00 p.m. PT

2021 USA Basketball Men's National Team roster

Name Position Height Current Team
4 Keldon Johnson G 6'5" San Antonio Spurs
5 Zach LaVine G 6'5" Chicago Bulls
6 Damian Lillard G 6'2" Portland Trail Blazers
7 Kevin Durant F 6'10" Brooklyn Nets
8 Khris Middleton F 6'7" Milwaukee Bucks
9 Jerami Grant F 6'8" Detroit Pistons
10 Jayson Tatum F 6'8" Boston Celtics
11 JaVale McGee C 7'0" Denver Nuggets
12 Jrue Holiday G 6'3" Milwaukee Bucks
13 Bam Adebayo F/C 6'9" Miami Heat
14 Draymond Green F 6'6" Golden State Warriors
15 Devin Booker G 6'5" Phoenix Suns

After initially being named to the 12-man roster, Washington Wizards guard Bradley Beal will no longer compete at the Tokyo Olympics after being placed under USA Basketball's health and safety protocols. Beal was replaced by San Antonio Spurs guard Keldon Johnson.

Kevin Love withdrew from the competition as part of ongoing recovery from a calf injury sustained during the 2020-21 NBA season. He was replaced by Denver Nuggets center JaVale McGee.

Head coach: Gregg Popovich

Assistant coaches: Steve Kerr, Lloyd Pierce, Jay Wright, Ime Udoka, Chip Engelland

2021 USA Basketball opponents

Olympics, Group A

Team USA will be in Group A, along with Iran, France and the Czech Republic. After each team meets once during the Group Phase, the top two teams advance to the knockout round. Three of the four teams in Group A feature NBA talent.

France (July 25)

The French Men's National Team features a number of NBA players in addition to players with NBA experience like Nando de Colo, Vincent Poirier and Guerschon Yabusele.

Czech Republic (July 31)

Winners of the FIBA Olympic Qualifying Tournament in Victoria, British Columbia, The Czech Republic's roster features a former lottery pick in Jan Vesely and one current NBA player.

  • Tomas Satoransky, Chicago Bulls

The views on this page do not necessarily reflect the views of the NBA or its clubs.

More from NBA.com

NBA Foundation grantee spotlight: Hopeworks
NBA Foundation grantee spotlight: Hopeworks
NBA.com Staff
LeBron James, Kevin Durant, Dwight Howard, Blake Griffin, Carmelo Anthony and James Harden
Fantasy draft: Lakers and Nets stars in their prime
Scott Rafferty and Kyle Irving
Blake Griffin, Patty Mills, Cam Thomas, Brooklyn Nets
The Nets are even deeper than before
Gilbert McGregor
Stephen Curry and Bradley Beal
Our predictions for this season's scoring leader
NBA.com Staff
James Harden, Kyrie Irving and Kevin Durant of the Brooklyn Nets
Is health the only thing that can slow Nets down?
Kane Pitman
#Nets
Nets depth chart for 2021-22 season
Kane Pitman
More News