What is the NBPA and who are the current members of its leadership group?

The National Basketball Players' Association (NBPA) is a union made up of active professional basketball players on the rosters of NBA teams.

Established in 1954, the NBPA currently has 450 members spread across 41 different countries.

Player representatives

Each season, every team elects a player and an alternate to serve on the NBPA's Board of Player Representatives.

These player representatives attend and speak on behalf of their team on all Player Representative meetings. Being on the board, they nominate and elect the NBPA's executive committee while also playing a role in selecting the Executive Director.

Here's a look at the Player Representative for every team for the 2019-20 season:

Team Player Representative Alternate
Atlanta Hawks John Collins Danilo Gallinari
Boston Celtics Grant Williams Aaron Nesmith
Brooklyn Nets DeAndre Jordan Nicolas Claxton
Charlotte Hornets Devonte' Graham Miles Bridges
Chicago Bulls Ryan Arcidiacono N/A
Cleveland Cavaliers Dylan Windler N/A
Dallas Mavericks Dwight Powell Maxi Kleber
Denver Nuggets Paul Millsap N/A
Detroit Pistons Rodney McGruder N/A
Golden State Warriors Kevon Looney N/A
Houston Rockets Sterling Brown Jae'Sean Tate
Indiana Pacers Myles Turner N/A
LA Clippers Ivica Zubac Terance Mann
Los Angeles Lakers Jared Dudley N/A
Memphis Grizzlies Jaren Jackson Jr. N/A
Miami Heat Duncan Robinson N/A
Milwaukee Bucks Thanasis Antetokounmpo Pat Connaughton
Minnesota Timberwolves Josh Okogie Karl-Anthony Towns
New Orleans Pelicans Nickeil Alexander-Walker N/A
New York Knicks Julius Randle Reggie Bullock
Oklahoma City Thunder Mike Muscala N/A
Orlando Magic Michael Carter-Williams Jonathan Isaac
Philadelphia 76ers Tobias Harris Danny Green
Phoenix Suns Frank Kaminsky Devin Booker
Portland Trail Blazers Damian Lillard Robert Covington
Sacramento Kings Harrison Barnes Tyrese Haliburton
San Antonio Spurs Derrick White N/A
Toronto Raptors Fred VanVleet Pascal Siakam
Utah Jazz Donovan Mitchell N/A
Washington Wizards Bradley Beal N/A

Executive Committee

The NBPA's Executive Committee, elected by their peers at the Board of Player Representative meetings, consists of one President, a First Vice President, the Secretary Treasurer and six additional Vice Presidents.

This nine-member committee are the key decision-makers when it comes to the NBPA's policies.

Here's a look at the current Executive Committee of the NBPA:

President - CJ McCollum (Portland Trail Blazers)

First Vice President - Andre Iguodala (Golden State Warriors)

Secretary Treasurer - Harrison Barnes

Vice President - Bismack Biyombo

Vice President - Malcolm Brogdon

Vice President - Jaylen Brown

Vice President - Kyrie Irving

Vice President - Grant Williams

Vice President - Garrett Temple

Executive Director

First elected in 2014 and then re-elected in 2018 for another four-year term, Michele Roberts is the Executive Director of the NBPA.

The Executive Director is elected by the Board of Player Representatives and the Executive Committee.

Handling the day-to-day affairs of the union, ensuring execution of all of the NBPA's policies and conducting the collective bargaining relationship between the NBA and the NBPA are among the major duties/responsibilities of the Executive Director.

The views on this page do not necessarily reflect the views of the NBA or its clubs.

More from

Toronto Raptors rookie Scottie Barnes
Raptors rookie Barnes 'couldn't be happier'
Scott Rafferty
Tobias Harris, Ben Simmons, Joel Embiid.jpeg
Fact or Fiction: Pressing storylines facing 76ers Staff
Jaren Jackson Jr., Kevin Porter Jr. and Shai Gilgeous-Alexander are among the leading MIP candidates for 2021-22 NBA season
Our picks for this season's Most Improved Player Staff
76ers depth chart for 2021-22 season
Benyam Kidane
Joel Embiid and Ben Simmons, Philadelphia 76ers
Are the 76ers real contenders this season?
Benyam Kidane
Ben Simmons brings the ball up the court for the Philadelphia 76ers
What Ben Simmons would bring to a team
Scott Rafferty
More News