NBA Summer League: Full list of Champions and Championship MVPs

The Summer League in Las Vegas began being called NBA Summer League from 2007 but until 2013, no champions were declared.

The organized offseason tournament was seen purely as a means for the franchises to focus on offseason player development and player selection for the NBA team's roster before training camp.

MORE: NBA Summer League's highest-scoring games | Full list of Summer League MVPs

Since 2013, seven different teams have won the Las Vegas Summer League and the Sacramento Kings, with their title in 2021, became the first franchise to win two Summer League titles.

Following is the list of champions, runners-up and championship game MVPs in the NBA Summer League since 2013:

Year Champion Runner-up Championship Game MVP
2013 Golden State Warriors Phoenix Suns Ian Clark
2014 Sacramento Kings Houston Rockets Ray McCallum, Jr.
2015 San Antonio Spurs Phoenix Suns Jonathan Simmons
2016 Chicago Bulls Minnesota Timberwolves Jerian Grant
2017 Los Angeles Lakers Portland Trail Blazers Kyle Kuzma
2018 Portland Trail Blazers Los Angeles Lakers K.J. McDaniels
2019 Memphis Grizzlies Minnesota Timberwolves Brandon Clarke
2021 Sacramento Kings Boston Celtics Louis King

Prior to the Kings, the Los Angeles Lakers, in 2018, came close to becoming the only team to repeat and thus win two Summer League Championships but they lost to the Portland Trail Blazers - a team they beat in the championship game in 2017.

Phoenix Suns is the only team to have been on the losing side of a championship game twice - 2013 and 2015.

The views on this page do not necessarily reflect the views of the NBA or its clubs.

More from

Joel Embiid, Doc Rivers, Philadelphia 76ers
76ers sound off about Ben Simmons at Media Day
Kyle Irving
Raptors head coach Nick Nurse and Fred VanVleet
What we learned from Raptors media day
Scott Rafferty
Kyle Lowry, Jimmy Butler and Bam Adebayo at Miami Heat Media Day 2021.
Live updates from Media Day Staff
Pelicans star Zion Williamson drives
Zion underwent foot surgery in offseason
Scott Rafferty
Joe Ingles defends Toronto Raptors forward OG Anunoby
How Anunoby can break out — again
Scott Rafferty
LeBron James, Carmelo Anthony FTR
LeBron and Melo through the years
Kyle Irving
More News