NBA Draft 2019: Who are the number one picks in the NBA Draft?

LeBron James [NBA Getty Images]

The New Orleans Pelicans have selected Zion Williamson with the first overall pick in the 2019 NBA Draft.

While many expect Williamson to ultimately become a star, not all No.1 picks hit as there are a fair share of players who fail to live up to the hype.

Here are all of the No. 1 picks, a club that now includes Williamson.

Former No. 1 overall picks
Year Player Position School Team
2019 Zion Williamson F Duke New Orleans Pelicans
2018 DeAndre Ayton C Arizona Phoenix Suns
2017 Markelle Fultz G Washington Philadelphia 76ers
2016 Ben Simmons G/F LSU Philadelphia 76ers
2015 Karl-Anthony Towns C Kentucky Minnesota Timberwovles
2014 Andrew Wiggins F Kansas Cleveland Cavaliers
2013 Anthony Bennett F UNLV Cleveland Cavaliers
2012 Anthony Davis F/C Kentucky New Orleans Hornets
2011 Kyrie Irving G Duke Cleveland Cavaliers
2010 John Wall G Kentucky Washington Wizards
2009 Blake Griffin F Oklahoma Los Angeles Clippers
2008 Derrick Rose G Memphis Chicago Bulls
2007 Greg Oden C Ohio State Portland Trail Blazers
2006 Andrea Bargnani F/C International Toronto Raptors
2005 Andrew Bogut C Utah Milwaukee Bucks
2004 Dwight Howard C SWACA (HS) Orlando Magic
2003 LeBron James F SVSM (HS) Cleveland Cavaliers
2002 Yao Ming C International Houston Rockets
2001 Kwame Brown C Gwynn (HS) Washington Wizards
2000 Kenyon Martin F Cincinnati New Jersey Nets
1999 Elton Brand F Duke Chicago Bulls
1998 Michael Olowokandi C Pacific Los Angeles Clippers
1997 Tim Duncan C/F Wake Forest San Antonio Spurs
1996 Allen Iverson G Georgetown Philadelphia 76ers
1995 Joe Smith F Maryland Golden State Warriors
1994 Glenn Robinson F Purdue Milwaukee Bucks
1993 Chris Webber F Michigan Orlando Magic
1992 Shaquille O'Neal C LSU Orlando Magic
1991 Larry Johnson F UNLV Charlotte Hornets
1990 Derrick Coleman F Syracuse New Jersey Nets
1989 Pervis Ellison F/C Louisville Sacramento Kings
1988 Danny Manning F/C Kansas Los Angeles Clippers
1987 David Robinson C Navy San Antonio Spurs
1986 Brad Daugherty C North Carolina Cleveland Cavaliers
1985 Patrick Ewing C Georgetown New York Knicks
1984 Hakeem Olajuwon C Houston Houston Rockets
1983 Ralph Sampson C/F Virginia Houston Rockets
1982 James Worthy F North Carolina Los Angeles Lakers
1981 Mark Aguirre F/G DePaul Dallas Mavericks
1980 Joe Barry Carroll C/F Purdue Golden State Warriors
1979 Magic Johnson G/F Michigan State Los Angeles Lakers
1978 Mychael Thompson C/F Minnesota Portland Trail Blazers
1977 Kent Benson C Indiana Milwaukee Bucks
1976 John Lucas G Maryland Houston Rockets
1975 David Thompson G/F NC State Atlanta Hawks
1974 Bill Walton C/F UCLA Portland Trail Blazers
1973 Doug Collins G/F Illinois State Philadelphia 76ers
1972 LaRue Martin C Loyola-Chicago Portland Trail Blazers
1971 Austin Carr G Notre Dame Cleveland Cavaliers
1970 Bob Lanier C St. Bonaventure Detroit Pistons
1969 Kareem Abdul-Jabbar C UCLA Milwaukee Bucks
1968 Elvin Hayes F/C Houston San Diego Rockets
1967 Jimmy Walker G Providence Detroit Pistons
1966 Cazzie Russell F/G Michigan New York Knicks
1965 Fred Hetzel F/C Davidson San Francisco Warriors
1964 Jim Barnes C/F UTEP New York Knicks
1963 Art Haymen F/G Duke New York Knicks
1962 Bill McGill C/F Utah Chicago Zephyrs
1961 Walt Bellamy C Indiana Chicago Packers
1960 Oscar Robertson G Cincinnati Cincinnati Royals
1959 Bob Boozer F Kansas State Cincinnati Royals
1958 Elgin Baylor F Seattle Minneapolis Lakers
1957 Hot Rod Hundley G West Virginia Cincinnati Royals
1956 Si Green G/F Duquesne Rochester Royals
1955 Dick Ricketts F/C Duquesne St. Louis Hawks
1954 Frank Selvy G/F Furman Baltimore Bullets
1953 Ray Felix C Long Island Baltimore Bullets
1952 Mark Workman F/C West Virginia Milwaukee Hawks
1951 Gene Melchiorre - Bradley Baltimore Bullets
1950 Chuck Share C Bowling Green Boston Celtics
1949 Howie Shannon G/F Kansas State Providence Steamrollers
1948 Andy Tonkovich G Marshall Providence Steamrollers
1947 Clifton McNeeley - UTEP Pittsburgh Ironmen

More from

LeBron James, Anthony Davis (Los Angeles Lakers)
Who has more All-Stars, Lakers or Nets?
Benyam Kidane
Jaren Jackson Jr., Kevin Porter Jr. and Shai Gilgeous-Alexander are among the leading MIP candidates for 2021-22 NBA season
Our picks for this season's Most Improved Player Staff
Jonathan Kuminga, Golden State Warriors, Josh Primo, San Antonio Spurs, Josh Giddey, Oklahoma City Thunder
Who are the NBA's youngest players? Staff
Jock Landale, Keldon Johnson, Josh Primo
Get to know Spurs' young core
Kyle Irving
Lonnie Walker IV and Dejounte Murray of the San Antonio Spurs
Spurs depth chart for 2021-22 season Staff
Dejounte Murray and Keldon Johnson of the San Antonio Spurs
A new era begins for the Spurs
Scott Rafferty
More News