History of NBA All-Star 3-Point Contest winners

The NBA introduced the 3-Point Contest at All-Star Weekend in 1986 and has been held every year since with the exception of 1999.

Here's a look back at the 25 different winners of the 3-Point Contest since its inception…

3-Point Contest Winners

Year Winner Team Location
2021 Stephen Curry Golden State Warriors Atlanta
2020 Buddy Hield Sacramento Kings Chicago
2019 Joe Harris Brooklyn Nets Charlotte
2018 Devin Booker Phoenix Suns Los Angeles
2017 Eric Gordon Houston Rockets New Orleans
2016 Klay Thompson Golden State Warriors Toronto
2015 Stephen Curry Golden State Warriors New York City
2014 Marco Belinelli San Antonio Spurs New Orleans
2013 Kyrie Irving Cleveland Cavaliers Houston
2012 Kevin Love Minnesota Timberwolves Orlando
2011 James Jones Miami Heat Los Angeles
2010 Paul Pierce Boston Celtics Dallas
2009 Daequan Cook Miami Heat Phoenix
2008 Jason Kapono Toronto Raptors New Orleans
2007 Jason Kapono Toronto Raptors Las Vegas
2006 Dirk Nowitzki Dallas Mavericks Houston
2005 Quentin Richardson Phoenix Suns Denver
2004 Voshon Lenard Denver Nuggets Los Angeles
2003 Peja Stojakovic Sacramento Kings Atlanta
2002 Peja Stojakovic Sacramento Kings Philadelphia
2001 Ray Allen Milwaukee Bucks Washington, D.C.
2000 Jeff Hornacek Utah Jazz Oakland
1998 Jeff Hornacek Utah Jazz New York
1997 Steve Kerr Chicago Bulls Cleveland
1996 Tim Legler Washington Wizards San Antonio
1995 Glen Rice Miami Heat Phoenix
1994 Mark Price Cleveland Cavaliers Minnesota
1993 Mark Price Cleveland Cavaliers Salt Lake City
1992 Craig Hodges Chicago Bulls Orlando
1991 Craig Hodges Chicago Bulls Charlotte
1990 Craig Hodges Chicago Bulls Miami
1989 Dale Ellis Seattle SuperSonics Houston
1988 Larry Bird Boston Celtics Chicago
1987 Larry Bird Boston Celtics Seattle
1986 Larry Bird Boston Celtics Dallas

Who has the most 3-Point Contest wins?

Both Larry Bird (1986-88) and Craig Hodges (1990-92) are three-time winners. Bird and Hodges each won their three titles consecutively, combining to win six of the first seven 3-point contests.

After Bird and Hodges, five players have won twice: Price, Hornacek, Stojakovic, Kapono, and Curry. Barry Curry, each of the two-time winners won their titles in consecutive years.

More from

Team USA announce Dream Team
On this date: USA Basketball name Dream Team
Yash Matange
Ben Simmons of the Philadelphia 76ers
Simmons plans to not report to training camp Staff
Klay Thompson
Warriors give update on Thompson's return
Benyam Kidane
NBA Foundation grantee spotlight: Hopeworks
NBA Foundation grantee spotlight: Hopeworks Staff
LeBron James, Kevin Durant, Dwight Howard, Blake Griffin, Carmelo Anthony and James Harden
Fantasy draft: Lakers and Nets stars in their prime
Scott Rafferty and Kyle Irving
Blake Griffin, Patty Mills, Cam Thomas, Brooklyn Nets
The Nets are even deeper than before
Gilbert McGregor
More News