Toronto Raptors

Mike Budenholzer and Billy Donovan voted NBCA co-coaches of the year, Nick Nurse finishes third

Mike Budenholzer, Billy Donovan and Nick Nurse (NBAE/Getty Images)

The coaching efforts of Mike Budenholzer and Billy Donovan have not gone unnoticed this season.

Budenholzer and Donovan were the Michael H. Goldberg National Basketball Coaches Association (NBCA) co-coaches of the year, as voted on by the NBA's 30 head coaches.

"Congratulations to Mike Budenholzer and Billy Donovan on this prestigious recognition," Dallas Mavericks Head Coach and NBCA President Rick Carlisle said in a release. "Mike led the Bucks to the best record in the league for a second straight season and Billy became just the fourth active Head Coach to lead his team to the playoffs in each of his first five seasons.

"To win the vote of our peers makes the Michael H. Goldberg NBCA Coach of the Year Award one of the most meaningful in all of pro sports."

This award, first voted on in 2017, is a separate honour from the Red Auerbach Coach of the Year award, which has already been voted on by the media based on games played through March 11 and will be announced after the 2020 NBA playoffs begin.

ESPN Adrian Wojnarowski noted that Toronto Raptors head coach Nick Nurse fell one vote shy of earning a third share of the award.

Could this have a bearing on his chances to win the NBA's Coach of the Year honour? Take a look at the resumes of the above three…

Coach of the Year Candidates
Coach Team Record (through Mar. 11)
Mike Budenholzer Milwaukee Bucks 53-12
Billy Donovan Oklahoma City Thunder 40-24
Nick Nurse Toronto Raptors 46-18

…as well as a history of the implications of being named NBCA Coach of the Year.

Coaches of the Year since 2017
Year NBCA Coach of the Year NBA Coach of the Year
2016-17 Mike D'Antoni (Rockets), Erik Spoelstra (Heat) Mike D'Antoni, Houston Rockets
2017-18 Dwane Casey, Toronto Raptors Dwane Casey, Toronto Raptors
2018-19 Mike Budenholzer, Milwaukee Bucks Mike Budenholzer, Milwaukee Bucks
2019-20 Mike Budenholzer (Bucks), Billy Donovan (Thunder TBD

The 2020 NBA playoffs begin on Monday, Aug. 17. The NBA will announce the winner of the Red Auerbach Trophy as the NBA's Coach of the Year during TNT's coverage of the 2020 NBA Playoffs.

The views on this page do not necessarily reflect the views of the NBA or its clubs.

More from

Live updates from Media Day Staff
Pelicans star Zion Williamson drives
Zion underwent foot surgery in offseason
Scott Rafferty
Joe Ingles defends Toronto Raptors forward OG Anunoby
How Anunoby can break out — again
Scott Rafferty
LeBron James, Carmelo Anthony FTR
LeBron and Melo through the years
Kyle Irving
Is Westbrook the answer for the Lakers?
Scott Rafferty
Lakers superstars LeBron James and Anthony Davis
Can the new-look Lakers make it work?
Scott Rafferty
More News